Planner Review: Day Designer for Blue Sky

on

After I had purchased BodyBoss, I decided to buy a planner dedicated to charting my workouts and my progress (and because it’s really, REALLY easy for me to talk myself into buying a planner). I opted for the Day Designer for Blue Sky Monthly/Weekly, and if you’re into planner reviews, I’ve got one for you after the break!

I’ve tried numerous times to get into bullet journaling. I had a board dedicated to the topic on Pinterest, and I’ve bought at least 4 notebooks dedicated to the system. And I have completed exactly ZERO of those notebooks.

The one I’ve got currently is probably the best. I realized that I was trying too hard in the beginning – creating a spread for the monthly view, a weekly spread, a daily spread, trackers. It was too much work! So now I’ve got a system that is simply a list of appointments and events per month, and a weekly timetable.

I wanted something more structured for my workouts, though, and I wanted something that gave me enough room to plan my workouts and journal about them in the same space. For that purpose, this planner is perfect.

20170709_142953.jpg

The monthly spread (Sunday start, which I do not like) gives me plenty of space to jot down each workout. I flip to the month and can quickly see what workouts I need to do, and what I need to plan around (appointments, vacations, etc.) in one glance. This will be helpful especially when I start my 15k training in the fall.

20170709_143113

The weekly layout is pretty great! I am not usually a big fan of the horizontal layout, but this is similar to my work planner, so I am comfortable with it. I really like having my schedule on one side, and the to do section on the other. I list my workouts under the to do section, and I journal in the space for my schedule. The weekends are combined into one space, but I still have plenty of room to write down pertinent information – namely, my measurements and weight.

20170709_143125

The cover is adjustable – I can slide out the cover page and put in my own cover. I plan to leave the page, but I might attach progress pictures to the front. That might be horribly embarrassing at first, but it’d be a damn good way to track my progress. Something to ponder.

That’s pretty much it! The planner comes with some goals-related pages in the front, and extra note-taking pages in the back. Since this is dedicated strictly to my workouts, I didn’t go into much depth.

Overall thoughts: This is a great basic planner, and I’m considering buying another one for work. It’s pretty and well-designed, and it’s been printed on excellent paper.

Leave a Reply

