BodyBoss: The Beginning

I have been working out inconsistently for a pretty long while. And I’ve tried a sh-t-ton of programs – P90X, Zumba, POP Pilates, the Nerd Fitness bodyweight workout. I even tried designing my own workouts, based on 30-day challenges found all over Pinterest. But I’ve never stuck to one single thing.

So I just shelled out my own money for the BodyBoss fitness guide. And since they’re having a deal, I went ahead and bought the combination package of the online guide and the print copy. I’ll probably wait until I have the printed guide to start the workout program because I find referring to my phone during a workout to be a complete nuisance (#firstworldproblems). But I’m flipping through the online guide now, and I’ve taken my pre-BodyBoss pictures. Maybe I’ll post them later down the line.

My goals for this are:

  1. To find a structured program that I can stick with. I chose BodyBoss because, including the pre-training program, it’s 16 weeks. That is 16 weeks of pre-planned workouts, 3 days a week. The program goes in cycles – pre-training for 4 weeks, then 4 3-week cycles for the remaining 12 weeks. That means the actual workouts won’t be so redundant – every 3 weeks I’ll start doing something new.
  2. To be more fit. I’m definitely not the healthiest or strongest I’ve ever been in my life, and I’m getting fed up with huffing and puffing when I take the stairs, or not being able to keep up with my boyfriend when we walk together.
  3. To be in better shape for next year’s Hot Chocolate run. I’ve done the 5k ever since it first came to San Diego, and I’ve never run the whole thing. And after a particularly slow 5k this year, I decided to challenge myself to do the 15k. (I’m a masochist, evidently.) Improving my base level of fitness now will definitely help when I begin the 15k training in the fall.

I’ll report back when I actually begin the program!

Leave a Reply

