On preparation (and a recipe)

May Whole30 is already off to a terrible start.

Does anyone else hate grocery shopping? I hate it, and after a weekend spent in the company of good friends, soaking up sunshine and bad movies, I was in no mood to go grocery shopping Sunday night.

So I did NOT start Whole30 eating yesterday. And since I already knew I was going to fail day 1, I went ahead and failed HARD. (Go big or go home!) I had ice cream, I had ramen (not together), I had cheese. All no-no’s.

And I regretted it! I was bloated and I felt gross. So I re-committed, I got some groceries, and I cooked a crap-ton of chicken and eggs. I ate a Whole30 breakfast this morning around 7am this morning, and I am full without feeling like crap.

I’ve been making frittatas big enough to last me and my boyfriend four days. It’s super straightforward, filling, and pretty darn tasty!

Whole30 Frittata

INGREDIENTS

  1. 3 Aidell’s chicken sausages (available at Costco!), sliced into coins
  2. 5 small potatoes, or 1 russet potato, chopped
  3. Asparagus spears, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
  4. 8 eggs, whisked
  5. Salt and pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. If you’re using a Pyrex or baking pan, spray with nonstick cooking oil or rub with ghee.
  2. In a cast iron pan or nonstick skillet, sauté the sausages and potatoes until the potatoes are nearly cooked, maybe 3 minutes.
  3. While the sausages and potatoes are cooking, blend eggs with salt and pepper.
  4. Add asparagus to the pan and sauté for an additional 1 or 2 minutes.
  5. If you’re going to bake your eggs in your cast iron, add ghee or olive oil to the pan and pour in your whisked eggs. Let it sit for a minute, then turn off the heat and pop the cast iron in the oven. Give it 10-12 minutes in the oven, or until the eggs are fully set. (12 minutes in my oven)
  6. If you’re going to bake your eggs in a baking pan, turn off the heat and carefully transfer contents of your skillet to the prepared pan. Pop pan into the oven and give it about 15-20 minutes, or until the eggs are fully set. (18 minutes in my oven)
  7. Remove, slice into wedges, serve!

NOTES

  1. This frittata keep wonderfully in the fridge. I usually let the frittata cool in the pan the day I make it, and then store it in a Pyrex container for up to 4 days. I reheat two servings in the morning in the microwave for about a minute, and drizzle it with Cholula (Whole30-friendly!). It is amazing with a little cheese sprinkled on top, if you aren’t restricting dairy.
  2. I’m trying to eliminate processed and red meat, so the next time I make this, I’m going to try using ground turkey seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. I’ve also made this without meat, as the eggs provide plenty of protein. Vegetarian frittatas taste great topped with avocado (everything tastes great topped with avocado)!

 

Leave a Reply

