How 2016 permanently changed my life

So I’d said that turning 30 was kind of the impetus for this self-discovery journey I am currently navigating. But there’s a little more to it than just a birthday.

2016 was one of the most formative years of my life. Later down the line, perhaps 2, 5, or 10 years from now, I’ll take a look back to see how I got where I’m going, and I’ll be able to put a pin in 2016.

Last year, I went through what I’ve been calling a divorce. One of my very best friends introduced me to her coworker, and he and I hit it off. It wasn’t long before we were dating – and it wasn’t long after that that my friend showed her true colors. She avoided talking to me about my budding relationship, and when we did actually finally discuss it, she said she wasn’t happy for me. Worse than that, though, was how she treated my boyfriend. Like I said, they were coworkers – and she ostracized him from their team, and from nearly everyone else who worked in their department.

So I cut her out of my life. And in doing so, I lost a large number of our mutual friends. I also moved out of the apartment I’d shared with her for over six years, and I stopped frequenting the dancehall where I’d regularly spent nearly every weekend since I was 22.

This self-discovery, this path toward living my best life, all started as an attempt to rediscover what makes me passionate, what makes me happy, what makes me whole. Without my local social circle (all my other close friends live over an hour away), without my usual stomping grounds, without that incredibly close source of love and support.

Needless to say, I floundered for a little while.

But I think and feel that I am on the right track. I’m in a much better place than I was a year ago, a healthy foundation from which I can further grow and develop. And I am excited to see where I am next year.

So thank you, 2016. I am grateful for the lessons I learned, and for the opportunity to find my way back to myself.

How have you used difficult circumstances to grow into a better person?

xoxo

Hanna

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

