My morning routine

After 30 years of vehemently swearing that I am not a morning person, I purposefully set my alarm clock for 30 minutes earlier than I truly need to wake up – and I’m even thinking about increasing that to an hour.

INCLUDING WEEKENDS.

I’ve been reading a lot of articles about healthy habits and how to form them, and in this articles I kept encountering the same advice over and over – start a morning routine!

Prior to, oh, Monday of this week, my morning routine consisted of snoozing my alarm clock the maximum three times, then blearily getting dressed and prepared for work. But at the end of March, I had gotten back into bullet journaling after testing and not loving a few other planning systems, and my personal queen of the bullet journal, Kara of Boho Berry had “miracle morning” written on her fabulous habit tracker (possibly my favorite page in my bullet journal). Curious, I Googled it, and found Hal Elrod and his Miracle Morning.

I immediately adopted the 6-minute version before even reading his book, I was so ready for a life change. My routine is technically a little longer than 6 minutes, and honestly, I want more time with some of the S.A.V.E.R.S – which is why I’m thinking of tacking on that extra half hour in the morning. (CRAZY TALK. AND YET.)

So without further ado, here is my morning routine!

Wake at 6:30am: I give myself one 5 minute snooze to just enjoy being in bed. If my boyfriend is awake, we might chat a bit before my alarm goes off again at 6:35am.

Ablutions: I brush my teeth, wash my face, and put on some SPF. (That’s my entire “makeup” routine.)

S.A.V.ER.S:

  • Silence: I focus on my breathing for one minute. Just concentrating on my breath for 60 seconds helps put me in focused and energized mindframe (but I’d like to step this up to 10 minutes, ultimately, so I can incorporate some meditation).
  • Affirmations: The hardest part for me, personally. I still haven’t worked my way up to actually reading them aloud, but I’ve written down encouraging and positive “I am” statements (ex: I am worthy, I am enough, I am grateful).
  • Visualization: The second hardest, since I am still working on visualizing what I want my life to look like. I recently made some big life changes that I’ll go into at a later time, but prior to last year, my life had been pretty stagnant. So I’m shaking myself out of that stasis, but instead of mindlessly searching for inspiration, I plan to really sit with myself and think it out.
  • Exercise: A 2-minute yoga routine. I really start waking up at this point in the morning; getting my blood flowing with gentle exercise has really invigorated me, and I wish it hadn’t taken me 30 years to figure this out!
  • Reading: I’d like to have more time in the morning to read. My last hour in the evening is devoted to fiction; my mornings are dedicated to personal development and growth. It’s going to inch along pretty slowly if I only give it a minute in the mornings.
  • Scribing (Journaling): Again, not a lot I can get written down in the space of a minute. I’d like at least 5, I think. I take this time to write down any important thoughts that came up while I was sitting in silence, or my goals for the day. They’d probably be less vague if I gave myself a bit more time to think about them.

After completing the S.A.V.E.R.S, I quickly eat breakfast and get dressed for work. My boyfriend and I are out the door at 7:15am at the latest (luckily, we live very close to work), and back home a little after 4pm.

Like I said earlier, I just adopted this morning routine on Monday; this morning was only my third day of implementing this new routine. But I hope to form it into a sustainable habit, and steadily increase the time until I’ve found what works best for me. At that point, I’ll give you an update!

Do you have a morning routine? What’s your morning beverage? (I’m addicted to coffee!)

xoxo

Hanna

Leave a Reply

